theTulsan.com : NEW! Embittered format!

Tulsans' Original Revolutionary Website!

‘Obstructing an Investigation’ Abuse in Tulsa, Oklahoma

with 4 comments

On the evening of April 9, 2011 I was involved in a major traffic accident in which I was wrongly ticketed. I was not intoxicated – on my way home from work – and was hit from behind in my sub-compact car by an SUV traveling approximately 40-45mph; this impact drove my car into a stopped vehicle as I was stopping for it, totaling my vehicle. My airbag did not deploy and I was pretty shook up, sustaining injuries to my head, my neck, my back, my ribs, legs, and arms. It was not ‘inattentiveness,’ but close attention to road conditions that prevented the accident from being much worse.

This incident escalated with my arrest for ‘obstructing an investigation’ as I attempted to take pictures of the accident scene. The sequence of events should have been captured by the on-board video cameras from the police vehicles, but I guess we spit on the grave of Gus Spanos – because the videos were either erased or not in operation (more questions for discovery, discovery, discovery!)
In either case I am most interested in gathering the participants in this dark deed together, and have them piece together what happened next, because it will be quite the object of discussion.

My assailant did not issue a clear order in the first place but I understood his question ‘Do you want to be arrested?’ and I was trying to comply with the order to vacate, but he counted to ‘three’ and on ‘three’ rushed me – before I had a chance to tell him a car was coming. He grabbed my shirt to throw me to the ground, tearing the shirt off my body, and commenced to swing me around and around while I continually hollered to him that I was leaving but a car was coming – to no avail. He punched me twice in the face, scratched my neck, swung me by my necktie as he attempted to throw me into an eastbound traffic lane. My human response was to try and stay on my feet, partly out of fear of being thrown in traffic, but also because of my injuries it was excrutiatingly painful to move and feared hitting the ground. I never attempted to strike or assault the officer, though the arrest report says I did.

I was beaten by my assailant, assaulted by a Storey Wrecker employee, assaulted with a baton by a second badged assailant, pepper sprayed at point-blank range while I lay helpless on the ground with said Storey Wrecker employee crushing my ribs, left in handcuffs for two hours – 45 minutes alongside 61st Street and for more than ninety minutes in the booking area (I still have numbness in my hands and scars on both wrists). Only when it was time for his break did he take the handcuffs off and placed me in a holding cell, left there until my assailant was ready to leave for the night, I suppose.

The charges were never and have never been explained by the City or my assailant, and I was left injured and helpless in the Correction Center with literally no means of communicating to my family – I know no one with a ‘landline.’ My right cornea was shredded by the pepper spray, and I sustained bruising to my back, face, shoulder, knee, neck, and chest. My mouth was split open and bloody, and I was blind in my eye for three weeks and still have blurred vision.

I have never had a ‘run-in’ with authorities, and pay my tickets and fines when they are assessed, and have had several discharged. As a citizen journalist who has operated a blog website for ten years I have never been accused of misrepresentation. My treatment during the arrest and my incarceration were nightmarish, and reflect pathetically on the Tulsa Police Department and the City of Tulsa. Our ‘justice’ system is a kangaroo court worthy of a third-world nation, staffed by goons worthy of a third-world nation.

I am so dismayed that this unjust prosecution is proceeding, when my assailant undertook to abuse me of virtually every human and civil right I am guaranteed under the United States Constitution. By proxy, the City of Tulsa is willfully and wrongfully engaging in a grotesque violation of my civil rights.

In an ‘enlightened’ city like Tulsa I am dumbstruck by my circumstances, and believe that this represents police, prosecutorial, and executive misconduct. The arrest report is a barely literate litany of ommissions, confusing timelines, and designed to obfusticate the level of force used against me. My ‘crime’ was interrupting an ‘investigation’ for about ninety seconds out of thirty five minutes my vicious assailant spent with the woman who plowed into me.

My ‘trial’ is Wednesday, June 15 at 2:00pm in District I Municipal Court. I understand that I am not entitled to a jury trial – because even (or, should I say, especially) in Tulsa, cops are allowed to commit felonious assault on us meat bag citizens to enforce municipal code. I cannot wait for a jury of my peers!

I will not stop until justice is done. Though the Heavens fall.

Written by thetulsan

June 10, 2011 at 11:10 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. With all the crime in Tulsa, it is sad that the police would hurt and arrest a hard working, tax paying, family man who has been a longtime resident of T town after being injured in a serious car accident…praying for you to completely heal from you injuries from the car wreck and the police beating as well. Get well soon.

    Concerned American

    June 11, 2011 at 6:29 am

  2. As if all this wasn’t horrific enough, Tim’s 4 year-old daughter was in the emergency room during all this with over 105 degree temperature being evaluated for a possible appendextimy. The officer was aware of this and totally disregarded not only Tim’s civil rights but also the need that a little girl has for her father at a time like this.

    Wendy

    June 13, 2011 at 10:35 am

    • As if all this wasn’t horrific enough, Tim’s 4 year-old daughter was in the emergency room during all this with over 105 degree temperature being evaluated for a possible appendectomy. The officer was aware of this and totally disregarded not only Tim’s civil rights but also the need that a little girl has for her father at a time like this.

      Wendy

      June 13, 2011 at 10:39 am

  3. Hey just read all the articles sounds like you are being railroaded like we were by “state officials” who think they will get some notariaty in the newspapers and TV news hope all goes well in court you are in our thoughts and prayers. we thought this was all settled you know us we aren’t to computer savy Gene and Shauna

    Gene Hinsley

    June 13, 2011 at 9:51 pm


Leave a Reply

